Thank you for visiting Davie NCGenWeb!
Please note we are not part of Davie County’s government system.

Davie County was formed in 1836 from Rowan.  It was named in honor of William Richardson Davie, an attorney, distinguished Revolutionary soldier, member of the Federal Convention of 1787, governor of North Carolina, special envoy extraordinary and minister plenipotentiary to France, and one of the founders of the University of North Carolina.  It is in the central section of the State and is bordered by Davidson, Rowan, Iredell, Yadkin, and Forsyth counties.  The present area is 264 square miles.  In 1837 the court was ordered to be held at Mocksville.  Mocksville, incorporated in 1839, is the county seat.

NCGenWeb expresses our gratitude to Elizabeth Harris, County Coordinator until 2009, for her kindness and contributions during reconstruction of this site.