Thank you for visiting Iredell NCGenWeb!
Please note that this site is not part of Iredell County government.

Iredell County was named for James Iredell (1751-1799), Attorney General for NC during the Revolutionary War, and a delegate to the Constitutional Convention of 1788. Washington appointed him a judge of the Supreme Court of the US in 1790.

Iredell County’s Parentage, Relatives, and Neighbors

Iredell County was created from Old Rowan County in 1788. Alexander County was created in 1847 from parts of Iredell, Caldwell, and Wilkes counties. Caldwell and Wilkes were never part of Iredell; they were, however, once part of Old Rowan County.

Iredell County is in the western central section of the state, and shares boundaries with Rowan, Cabarrus, Mecklenburg, Lincoln, Catawba, Alexander, Wilkes, Yadkin, and Davie counties. The present land area is 575.57 square miles. In 2000, the population was 122,660. The county seat is Statesville, established in 1789.

North Carolina County Formation (downloadable PDF)

State Library County Formation Information

North Carolina Formation Maps, FamilyHistory101 site

NCGenWeb thanks Tom Winslow for his stewardship of Iredell NCGenWeb for 12 years.