McDowell county is divided into eleven townships:

  1. Crooked Creek
  2. Dysartville,
  3. Nebo
  4. North Cove
  5. Montford Cove
  6. Pleasant Gardens
  7. Woodlawn-Sevier
  8. Sugar Hill
  9. Old Fort
  10. Marion
  11. Glenwood

The county seat is Marion. The other town in the county is Old Fort.

I am looking for history for each of the communities, their churches, fire departments and schools. If you have information that you would like to share, please let me know.