Welcome to Stanly County NCGenWeb!

Stanly County NC was formed in 1841 from the part of Montgomery County west of the Pee Dee River… citizens were unhappy about having to go to the county seat of Montgomery County to take care of business.  So they petitioned the state to have a new county formed, actually in 1838. Albemarle is the county seat.

Stanly County was named for John Stanly of New Bern (1774-1834), who served several terms in the NC House of Commons and 2 terms in the US House of Representatives.

Adjacent counties are: Rowan, Cabarrus, Union, Anson, Richmond and Montgomery.

Comments are closed.